Archive for the ‘news’ Category

Congratulations Ian

Tuesday, December 13th, 2022

Today, Ian Wanless was awarded the CMSA Medal of the Combinatorial Mathematics Society of Australasia. The CMSA Medal is an award for long and meritorious service to combinatorics. It is established to pay tribute to those members of the CMSA who, over a long period, have taken a significant leadership role in the CMSA and who have made valuable contributions to combinatorics. Ian has served the CMSA as President (twice) and Council Member.

In the newspaper

Wednesday, November 9th, 2022

In the 2023 Research Awards of The Australian newspaper, Monash University is the “lead institution” in discrete mathematics, and David Wood is the “field leader” in both discrete mathematics and pure & applied mathematics.

ARC Discovery Projects

Monday, January 17th, 2022

Congratulations to group members Daniel Horsley, Nick Wormald and Ron Steinfeld for receiving ARC Discovery Projects.

Best student talk prize

Friday, December 17th, 2021

Congratulations to honours student Jack Allsop (supervised by Ian Wanless) who just shared the Anne Penfold Street prize for best student talk at the 43rd Australasian Combinatorics Conference. His talk was entitled “Row-Hamiltonian Latin Squares”. Jack is the 4th group member to win this prize:

Monash, global leader in Discrete Mathematics

Wednesday, November 10th, 2021

Monash University is recognised as a “global leader” in discrete mathematics in the latest research report of The Australian newspaper. Only 20 research groups in Australia (across all disciplines) were given this status.

Nick Wormald was named the top researcher in Australia in theoretical computer science, and David Wood was named the top researcher in Australia in both discrete mathematics and pure & applied mathematics.

AustMS meeting

Thursday, December 10th, 2020

The Combinatorics and Graph Theory special session of yesterday and today’s AustMS meeting featured the following talks by group members:

  • Ajani De Vas Gunasekara. An Evans-style result for block designs
  • David Wood. Stack-number is not bounded by queue-number
  • Daniel Horsley. Fraisse limits of Steiner triple systems

And the Algebra special session featured the following talks by group members:

  • Heiko Dietrich. Some comments on group isomorphism
  • Xueyu Pan. Groups of small order type
  • Subhrajyoti Saha. Orbit Isomorphic Skeleton Groups

Daniel's ̶t̶o̶y̶s̶ Fraisse limits

DECRA for James Saunderson

Tuesday, November 10th, 2020

Congratulations to James Saunderson for receiving an ARC Discovery Early Career Research Award for a project “Realising the potential of hyperbolic programming”.

Congratulations to Subhrajyoti Saha

Friday, June 5th, 2020

Great news for Subhrajyoti Saha, whose PhD Thesis “Finite p-Groups and Coclass Theory” has just been approved. Subhra was supervised by Heiko Dietrich (with Ian Wanless as associate supervisor). Congratulations Subhra!

Congratulations to Kevin Hendrey

Tuesday, April 7th, 2020

Congratulations to Kevin Hendrey who has been awarded the 2019 Vice-Chancellor’s Commendation for Thesis Excellence for his PhD thesis
Extremal Graph Theory for Minors, Improper Colourings and Gonality.
Kevin is now a post-doctoral research fellow at DIMAG in Korea.

Tall Poppy Heiko

Friday, October 18th, 2019

Congratulations to Heiko Dietrich who has won one of this year’s Victorian Young Tall Poppy Science awards. The awards recognise outstanding research and academic achievement, as well as excellence in communication and community engagement to promote an understanding of science.