Archive for the ‘news’ Category

The Australian Research Magazine

Wednesday, November 8th, 2023

The group once again featured in the Research Magazine of The Australian newspaper today.

Discrete Mathematics
Lead institution: Monash
Field leader: David Wood

Theoretical Computer Science
Lead institution: Monash
Field leader: Nick Wormald

Pure & Applied Mathematics
Lead institution: Monash
Field leader: David Wood

ARC Discovery Projects

Sunday, October 29th, 2023

Group members were successful in today’s announcement of ARC Discovery Projects:

Fractional decomposition of graphs and the Nash-Williams conjecture. Daniel Horsley, Darryn Bryant (U. Queensland), Barbara Maenhaut (U. Queensland), Peter Dukes (U. Vic.).

The Global Structure of Sparse Networks. David Wood, Vida Dujmović (U. Ottawa).

Abdul Basit

Tuesday, September 19th, 2023

Welcome to Abdul Basit, who is a new post-doctoral researcher in the Monash Discrete Mathematics Research Group, funded under Daniel Horsley’s ARC grant. Basit’s research interests include combinatorial geometry, extremal and probabilistic graph theory, and additive combinatorics.

Nick Wormald wins an academy award!

Wednesday, March 15th, 2023

Well it wasn’t quite an Oscar, but Nick Wormald has won an award surely worthy of the red carpet.

It is the Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal, awarded by the Australian Academy of Science in recognition for his outstanding achievements in mathematical research. The citation recognised that Nick is a world leader in his field: he has made major contributions in the areas of random graphs and processes, enumeration of graphs and maps, structural graph theory, theoretical computer science, and network optimisation. See

Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal

Melissa Lee

Monday, March 13th, 2023

Welcome to Dr Melissa Lee who has joined the School of Mathematics as Lecturer and DECRA Fellow. Melissa’s research interests include finite group theory, representation theory of almost simple groups, finite geometry and combinatorics.

Robert wins the student prize!

Thursday, December 15th, 2022

Today, in a significant honour, Robert Hickingbotham was awarded the CMSA Anne Penfold Street Student Prize. The prize was awarded to the best student talk at the 44th Australasian Combinatorics Conference. His talk was entitled “Product structure of graph classes with bounded treewidth” and arose out of work performed at a recent MATRIX workshop on Structural Graph Theory. It was judged on criteria including motivation, methods, organisation, substance, originality and rapport to be the best talk in a strong field.

Congratulations Robert on a great effort!

Congratulations Ian

Tuesday, December 13th, 2022

Today, Ian Wanless was awarded the CMSA Medal of the Combinatorial Mathematics Society of Australasia. The CMSA Medal is an award for long and meritorious service to combinatorics. It is established to pay tribute to those members of the CMSA who, over a long period, have taken a significant leadership role in the CMSA and who have made valuable contributions to combinatorics. Ian has served the CMSA as President (twice) and Council Member.

In the newspaper

Wednesday, November 9th, 2022

In the 2023 Research Awards of The Australian newspaper, Monash University is the “lead institution” in discrete mathematics, and David Wood is the “field leader” in both discrete mathematics and pure & applied mathematics.

ARC Discovery Projects

Monday, January 17th, 2022

Congratulations to group members Daniel Horsley, Nick Wormald and Ron Steinfeld for receiving ARC Discovery Projects.

Best student talk prize

Friday, December 17th, 2021

Congratulations to honours student Jack Allsop (supervised by Ian Wanless) who just shared the Anne Penfold Street prize for best student talk at the 43rd Australasian Combinatorics Conference. His talk was entitled “Row-Hamiltonian Latin Squares”. Jack is the 4th group member to win this prize: